IBD and feeling shitty.

IBD – Inflammatory Bowel Disease; basically Crohn’s or Ulcerative Colitis. Both of those terms make me feel physically sick. But it’s what I might be facing.

With symptoms of terrible stomach cramps, fever, diarrhoea and constipation, heartburn, and feeling sick, paired with an abnormally high CRP level (I will explain this shortly), it would appear that IBD investigations are next on the list. How wonderful. 

I’d rather not have these tests, of which involve a colonoscopy, endoscopy, and a CT/MRI. Incredibly uncomfortable examinations so I hear. 

CRP or, C-Reactive Protein for the science nerds among us, is a marker for inflammation. Many different sources give different ranges for the normal level of CRP but it is usually under 5. I have had my CRP tested twice, the first time it was 23, and the second time it was 27. Well shit. That is just great.

What’s more, there are links between IBD and depression and other mood disorders. So now I don’t know whether I’m coming or going. It would make sense to tie the two in together, but is it just a separate mood disorder and simple IBS rather than IBD? Who knows.

On a slightly more positive note, my doctor has decided not to make me go back and see the awful counsellors I saw before and has left it up to me to discuss my issues with my GP in uni, let’s hope a second opinion could lead to a successful referral request hey!

I’m sure you’ve enjoyed reading about my current shitty illnesses (excuse the pun, it had to be done), but I thank you for your ongoing support. 

Stay strong, Nat x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

